Sunday, March 02, 2014

Independent Spirit Awards- Winners

WINNER: '12 Years a Slave'
'All Is Lost'
'Frances Ha'
'Inside Llewyn Davis'

Shane Carruth - 'Upstream Color'
J.C. Chandor - 'All Is Lost'
WINNER: Steve McQueen - '12 Years a Slave'
Jeff Nichols - 'Mud'
Alexander Payne - 'Nebraska'

Woody Allen - 'Blue Jasmine'
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater - 'Before Midnight'
Nicole Holofcener - 'Enough Said'
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber - 'The Spectacular Now'
WINNER: John Ridley - '12 Years a Slave'

First Feature
'Blue Caprice' - Alexandre Moors - director/producer; Kim Jackson, Brian O'Carroll, Isen Robbins, Will Rowbotham, Ron Simons, Aimee Schoof, Stephen Tedeschi - producer
'Concussion' - Stacie Passon - director; Rose Troche - producer
WINNER: 'Fruitvale Station' - Ryan Coogler - director; Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker - producers
'Una Noche' - Lucy Mulloy - director - producer; Sandy Pérez Aguila, Maite Artieda, Daniel Mulloy, Yunior Santiago - producers
'Wadjda' - Haifaa Al Mansour - director; Gerhard Meixner, Roman Paul - producer

First Screenplay
Lake Bell - 'In a World'
Joseph Gordon-Levitt - 'Don Jon'
WINNER: Bob Nelson - 'Nebraska'
Jill Soloway - 'Afternoon Delight'
Michael Starrbury - 'The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete'

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)
'Computer Chess' - Andrew Bujalski, writer/director
'Crystal Fairy' - Sebastiàn Silva, writer/director
'Museum Hours' - Jem Cohen, writer/director
'Pit Stop' - Yen Tan, writer/director; David Lowery, writer
WINNER: 'This is Martin Bonner' - Chad Hartigan, writer/director

Female Lead
WINNER: Cate Blanchett - 'Blue Jasmine'
Julie Delpy - 'Before Midnight'
Gaby Hoffmann - 'Crystal Fairy'
Brie Larson - 'Short Term 12'
Shailene Woodley - 'The Spectacular Now'

Male Lead
Bruce Dern - 'Nebraska'
Chiwetel Ejiofor - '12 Years a Slave'
Oscar Isaac - 'Inside Llewyn Davis'
Michael B. Jordan - 'Fruitvale Station'
WINNER: Matthew McConaughey - 'Dallas Buyers Club'
Robert Redford - 'All Is Lost'

Supporting Female
Melonie Diaz - 'Fruitvale Station'
Sally Hawkins - 'Blue Jasmine'
WINNER: Lupita Nyong'o - '12 Years a Slave'
Yolonda Ross - 'Go For Sisters'
June Squibb - 'Nebraska'

Supporting Male
Michael Fassbender - '12 Years a Slave'
Will Forte - 'Nebraska'
James Gandolfini - 'Enough Said'
WINNER: Jared Leto - 'Dallas Buyers Club'
Keith Stanfield - 'Short Term 12'

WINNER: Sean Bobbitt - '12 Years a Slave'
Benoit Debie - 'Spring Breakers'
Bruno Delbonnel - 'Inside Llewyn Davis'
Frank G. DeMarco - 'All Is Lost'
Matthias Grunsky - 'Computer Chess'

Shane Carruth & David Lowery - 'Upstream Color'
Jem Cohen & Marc Vives - 'Museum Hours'
Jennifer Lame - 'Frances Ha'
Cindy Lee - 'Una Noche'
WINNER: Nat Sanders - 'Short Term 12'

WINNER: '20 Feet From Stardom - Morgan Neville, director/producer; Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers, producers
'After Tiller' - Martha Shane & Lana Wilson, directors/producers
'Gideon's Army' - Dawn Porter, director/producer; Julie Goldman, producer
'The Act of Killing' - Joshua Oppenheimer, director/producer; Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo, producer
'The Square' - Jehane Noujaim, director, Karim Amer, producer

International Film
'A Touch of Sin' (China) - Jia Zhang-Ke, director
WINNER: 'Blue Is the Warmest Color' (France) - Abdellatif Kechiche, director
'Gloria (Chile) - Sebastián Lelio, director
'The Great Beauty' (Italy) - Paolo Sorrentino, director
'The Hunt' (Denmark) - Thomas Vinterberg, director

Robert Altman Award (Given to one film’s director, casting director and its ensemble cast)
Director: Jeff Nichols
Casting Director: Francine Maisler
Ensemble Cast: Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon

17th Piaget Producers Award
Toby Halbrooks & James M. Johnston
Jacob Jaffke
Andrea Roa
Frederick Thornton

20th Someone to Watch Award
'My Sister's Quinceañera' - Aaron Douglas Johnston, director
WINNER: 'Newlyweeds' - Shaka King, director
'The Foxy Merkins' - Madeline Olnek, director

19th Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
Kalyanee Mam - 'A River Changes Course'
WINNER: Jason Osder - 'Let the Fire Burn'
Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez - Manakamana'


Cleodacat said...

Looks like the predictables.

Nutty_Flavor said...

Boy, are Matty and Jared Leto going to be pissed off if they lose tonight.

bunny honey said...

Wow. There are a lot of movies I have never heard of but I will be looking them up. Congrats to all the winners!

Unknown said...

I enjoyed "Mud." Slow-moving but very satisfying. Glad to see it get some recognition, albeit small.

hothotheat said...

@unknown I agree, it was understated but I loved it.

I liked Jared's speech last night - albeit not suitable for Oscars - he thanked his "future ex-wife Lupita" and all the women he's been with and all the women who think they've been with him, lol. Don't believe the stories about him and Lupita, Miley and Taylor.

__-__=__ said...

Happy to see wins for 12 Years, Leto and MM. Agree these awards need to reclaim their soul and keep big corporations out of this. More Independents please!!

Vera L- said...

Short term 12 is showing in my neighborhood this Thursday. Really want to see it!

Count Jerkula said...

Is Lupita naked at all in the slave movie? I'm trying to decide whether to watch that or the last Thor movie.

I watched American Hustle and The Wolf Of Wall St last night. Leo blowing coke up a hooker's ass was great.

That the Amy Adams low slung titties in Hustle and they couldn't throw us a nipple? Assholes.


Popular Posts from the last 30 days